Collapse
Torrentech Radio is currently offline.
The radio is currently offline · Next Scheduled Set: Today, 21:00 » Ray_Von (Breakbeat)
Schedule · DJ-s · Stats

> Loading mp3's into Ableton then exporting to WAV 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
OfflineDark Matter
post 05. Mar 2013, 15:46
Post #1


Experienced Freek
***

Group: Moderators
Posts: 967
Thanks: 1105
Joined: 25.02.10
From: Milky Way Galaxy
Member No.: 57,959



I've been curious about this... I know taking an mp3 and transcoding it to a wav is a no no, but what about loading, say a DJ set, into Ableton using mp3's and then exporting to a WAV. Is this still not a good thing to do?
+Quote Post
OfflineKolor
post 05. Mar 2013, 16:04
Post #2


Last Man Standing
*****

Group: Global Moderators
Posts: 3,902
Thanks: 4344
Joined: 14.12.07
From: #torrentech
Member No.: 25,540



You won't loose any quality but if/when you encode the mixdown to MP3 again you will.
+Quote Post
OfflineDark Matter
post 05. Mar 2013, 16:11
Post #3


Experienced Freek
***

Group: Moderators
Posts: 967
Thanks: 1105
Joined: 25.02.10
From: Milky Way Galaxy
Member No.: 57,959



What about if I go to FLAC?

Say I load mp3's into Ableton get a mix together or whatever.

Export them as WAV and then transcode to FLAC?
+Quote Post
OfflineKolor
post 05. Mar 2013, 16:18
Post #4


Last Man Standing
*****

Group: Global Moderators
Posts: 3,902
Thanks: 4344
Joined: 14.12.07
From: #torrentech
Member No.: 25,540



You'll be left with the 320 quality (no further degradation of data) but the file size of FLAC.
+Quote Post
OfflineDark Matter
post 05. Mar 2013, 16:22
Post #5


Experienced Freek
***

Group: Moderators
Posts: 967
Thanks: 1105
Joined: 25.02.10
From: Milky Way Galaxy
Member No.: 57,959



I guess thats better than compressing back down to 320 and losing some. And not having the WAV file on your back.
+Quote Post
OfflineDark Matter
post 05. Mar 2013, 16:25
Post #6


Experienced Freek
***

Group: Moderators
Posts: 967
Thanks: 1105
Joined: 25.02.10
From: Milky Way Galaxy
Member No.: 57,959



Thanks for some info Kolor! <3
+Quote Post
OfflineFlint Eastwood
post 05. Mar 2013, 16:27
Post #7


Woobblarbalurg!
*****


Group: VIPs
Posts: 3,036
Thanks: 305
Joined: 03.10.08
Member No.: 38,646



Technically yes, you lose quality, but it isn't really an issue if you use good quality files to begin with. Most digital mixes are made like this, I guess, and it doesn't really tell. I mean, 320 is such good quality already. But yes, technically if you want to avoid transcoding you will have to use WAV or FLAC. But personally I would rather than a "little bit worse 320" rather than a FLAC using loads of memory just to preserve imperceptible extra quality.
+Quote Post
OfflineKolor
post 05. Mar 2013, 16:57
Post #8


Last Man Standing
*****

Group: Global Moderators
Posts: 3,902
Thanks: 4344
Joined: 14.12.07
From: #torrentech
Member No.: 25,540



Uploaded some transcoded spectral to give example of data loss
http://www.check2pic.ru/compare/26831/
+Quote Post
OfflineDark Matter
post 05. Mar 2013, 17:16
Post #9


Experienced Freek
***

Group: Moderators
Posts: 967
Thanks: 1105
Joined: 25.02.10
From: Milky Way Galaxy
Member No.: 57,959



QUOTE (Kolor @ 05. Mar 2013, 09:57) *
Uploaded some transcoded spectral to give example of data loss
http://www.check2pic.ru/compare/26831/


Thanks for this. thumbsup.gif
+Quote Post
OfflineFlint Eastwood
post 05. Mar 2013, 17:42
Post #10


Woobblarbalurg!
*****


Group: VIPs
Posts: 3,036
Thanks: 305
Joined: 03.10.08
Member No.: 38,646



I never analysed transcodes before, but if I understand that right it looks like the difference is negligible - not worth the extra space.
+Quote Post
OfflineKolor
post 05. Mar 2013, 18:00
Post #11


Last Man Standing
*****

Group: Global Moderators
Posts: 3,902
Thanks: 4344
Joined: 14.12.07
From: #torrentech
Member No.: 25,540



For a mix it will be fine. (Every set on the radio where the DJs use MP3 are transcoded)
+Quote Post
Offlineaegis
post 05. Mar 2013, 18:16
Post #12


downtempo soul
**


Group: Members
Posts: 434
Thanks: 403
Joined: 14.12.12
Member No.: 68,305



Yeah, especially considering that the radio uses 128 or 192 (depending on the specific DJ) and Soundcloud streams at 128...
+Quote Post
Offlinerecursive
post 09. Mar 2014, 21:55
Post #13


waaawowwowowaWAAWA
*


Group: Members
Posts: 50
Thanks: 45
Joined: 18.12.08
From: cali baby
Member No.: 41,913



you can't really upsample an audio file, once it hits the mp3 quality range there's no undoing it since the digital data is gone :/

+Quote Post
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic

Collapse

> Similar Topics in This Forum

  Topic S L C Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No new Ableton + Serato = Bridge
<3 <3 <3
30 d3db1t 15,094 09.03.2014 - 21:52
Last post by: recursive
No new ableton or reason
22 midwestompkrew 2,162 09.03.2014 - 21:48
Last post by: recursive
No New Posts Ableton and Minus presents ...
10 free Ableton Live sets
5 -WakuWaku- 3,796 28.11.2012 - 19:54
Last post by: felfeciroglu
No New Posts Ableton Life
ableton tuts
12 teika 3,057 09.03.2012 - 22:47
Last post by: is5
No New Posts Ableton Live
4 04ryanp 1,566 04.04.2011 - 11:24
Last post by: techheadspqr

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23.04.2014 - 13:32